Leadership Foundation Announces the 2018 Academic Scholarship Recipients

Oct 10, 2018 – The Delta Sigma Pi Leadership Foundation is proud to announce that through the generosity of countless Delta Sigma Pi brothers and friends, nearly $60,000 in academic scholarships was awarded in 2018.

More than 500 applications were received from 214 Deltasig applicants, a 50 percent Leadership Foundation Seal - Full Colorincrease from 2017.

"We had an overwhelming number of applications, with 177 in the undergraduate category alone," commented Scholarship Selection Committee Chair James "Duckie" Webb. "Reviewing all the applications is no small task, so I'd like to sincerely thank all the brothers for dedicating their time and energy to the Committee this year."

Webb chaired the Scholarship Selection Committee, which consisted of Gail Baumer, Linda Dorn, Ruben Johnston, Terri Kane, Kathy Lazo-Thompson, Beth Losik, Mike Mallonee, Allan Schuster and Eddie Stephens. 

The following brothers were awarded an academic scholarship:

Founders' Memorial
General Undergraduate Scholarships
Jacey Adler, Syracuse (NY)
Victoria Brier, Lewis (IL)
Christine Ho, Missouri-Kansas City 
Jackson McElroy, Kansas 
Sharmita Porshia, Georgia Southern 
Xavier Ruiz-Sanchez, Cal State-Chico 
Sheill, Grand Valley Sate (MI) 
Ian Silverman, Colorado-Boulder 

Melvin Wolfe Undergraduate Scholarships
Courtney Kendzierski, Shepherd (WV) 
Brooke West, Clemson (SC) 

Graduate Study Scholarships 
In Memory of Howard B. Johnson, Thomas M. Mocella, Lester H. White and Ben H. Wolfenberger 
Samantha Crumrine, Angelo State (TX) 
Mercedes Landry, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi 
Allan Schuster, Texas-Arlington 

Alpha Theta Chapter 
Jamie Schaffer, Cincinnati 
Claire Wuich, Cincinnati 

Beta Chapter 
Christopher Flinchbaugh, Cincinnati 

Beta Chapter-Robert O. Lewis 
Zane Creek, Missouri-St. Louis 

Beta Chapter-Robert A. Mocella 
Hunter Kuta, Iowa State 

Beta Chapter-James D. Thomson 
Brennen Feder, Arizona 

Beta Gamma Chapter 
Jamie Morris, South Carolina 

Bob and Dorothy Busse/Georgia/Southeastern Region
Donald Williams, Jr., Mercer (GA) 

Central Region-Jeffrey L. Philippi (Victor A. Tabor)
Emily Clinton, Illinois State 

Chicago Alumni Chapter-Thomas Mocella 
Erin Lippert, Loyola-Chicago 

Chicago Alumni Chapter-H.G. "Gig" Wright Graduate
Biyanka Shah, Valparaiso (IN) 

Collum-Mallonee LGBT 
Jinny Choi, Bentley (MA) 

Denver Alumni Chapter 
In honor of Elizabeth Fitz 
Marcos Rosell Pérez, Colorado State
Melissa Speelman, Denver 

Eta Psi/Thomas W. Tanner (Victor A. Tabor)
Suha Kirani, Houston 

Epsilon Phi-H. Nicholas Windeshausen
Stephanie Phang, Cal State-Sacramento 

Grand President's Circle 
Reilly Berk, Kent State (OH) 
Stephanie Hidalgo, San Diego 

Gulf South Region-Frank M. Busch (Victor A. Tabor)
Kaycie Kennison, Louisiana-Lafayette 

Gulf Western Region (Victor A. Tabor)
Aurora Canales, Texas A&M-Kingsville 

Iota Nu chapter 
Huihua He, Truman State (MO) 

Kappa Chapter-Daniel E. Plaster
Sarai Paul, Georgia State 

Steven J. Lambros/Theta Tau Chapter 
Merlyn Jensen, St. Cloud State (MN) 

Kappa Upsilon-Ann Marie Janes Memorial 
Rashini Gardiya Punchihewage, Winona State (MN) 

Skip and Lois Loomis Western Province 
Carley Haro, Orange County (CA)

Alfred Moroni/Epsilon Psi
Kel Nesbitt, Christian Brothers (TN) 

Mu Tau Chapter-Brian Bell
Justin Shin, George Mason (VA) 

North Central Province 
Rebecca Rizer, Albion (MI) 

Northeastern Province 
Morgan Land, Cincinnati 

Nu Chapter 
Jessica Steiner, Ohio State 

Pi Chapter Justin Lawrence Elliott Memorial 
Katherine Vocelka, Georgia 

John D. Richardson/Gamma Omega Chapter 
John Remy, Arizona State 

South Pacific Region
Lynn Tu, Southern California 

St. Louis Alumni Chapter/Stephanie DeGuire Memorial 
Taylor Branstetter, Lindenwood (MO) 

Southern Province Ashley Harrison Memorial 
Elizabeth Hicks, Florida Southern 

Space City Houston Alumni (Gulf Western Region)
Alexander Ishin, Texas A&M-College Station

Francis and Margaret Steinkrauss/New England Chapters
Aarambh Pradhan, Northeastern (MA)

Dr. Philip H. Turnquist Southern Province 
Clayton Buckaloo, South Carolina 

Tampa Bay Area 
Savannah Dempsey, Florida Southern 

Xi Phi Chapter
Kristof Torok, Massachusetts-Boston 

  • Fraternity Operations