Fraternity Board Meeting Minutes in Seconds

Feb 05, 2020 – The National Fraternity Board of Directors met in St. Louis in January. Read the Minutes in Seconds for a quick summary of the meeting.

Interim Mail Votes not previously reported:

  • Approved Reggie Aggarwall and Daniel Mandoli as candidates for National Honorary Initiate. Daniel Mandoli was initiated during the 2020 Presidents’ Academy.
  • Moved the 2021 Grand Chapter Congress location to the Cleveland Hilton from Renaissance Cleveland to address unmet contractual quality and space issues.
  • Approved changes to the policy language included in Ritual, which was updated in the 2019 printing of the Ritual book.
  • Approved a new communications plan to encourage recent graduates to stay connected with updated contact information, career progress, alumni involvement interests and providing feedback about Fraternity experiences.

At Meeting:

  • Removed the letters of recommendation requirements from the Collegian of the Year application, effective for the 2021 COY applications.
  • Approved changes to the Risk Management policy to remove procedural guidelines and make the policy more concise. The updated policy will go into effect August 1.
  • Selected retired Marriott executive and author Edwin Fuller, Wake Forest (NC), as the recipient of the 2020 Career Achievement Award.
  • Reviewed progress and reporting structures for the Strategic Priorities.
  • Adjusted Grand Chapter voting eligibility to permanently allow any chapter that has paid all debt prior to the first meeting of Congress to vote.
  • Wrote off debt in the amount of $3,191.75 for Delta Rho (Ferris State (MI)).
  • Changed the CMP financial requirements, effective for the 2020-21 CMP year: In order to receive recognition for Accredited Chapter, chapters must pay the National Fraternity for dues, membership fee and other debts owed at least 90 days after the expense. To receive Chapter of Recognition debt must be paid within 60 days and to receive Chapter of Excellence, within 45 days.
  • Added a CMP requirement under Accredited Chapter of 20 dues paying members each term to align with the National Policy requirement, effective for the 2021-2022 CMP year.
  • Failed to add a CMP requirement of 30 members under Chapter of Excellence.
  • Amended the Leadership Foundation donation CMP requirement (optional item in Chapter of Excellence-Tier 3) to allow, in rare situations, the Foundation to identify additional endowed funds that mirror Chapter Leadership Funds in scope and purpose that chapter fundraising efforts can support and qualify for credit.
  • Updated references to specific staff titles in the National Policies to say “Executive Director or their designee”.
  • Updated the magazine distribution policy to reflect current practice and expand to business deans.
  • Edited National Committee responsibilities in policy to reflect realities of expectations.
  • Failed a recommendation to provide the Birkman Assessment (used at Presidents’ Academy) to all District Directors.
  • Selected the Cleveland-Akron Alumni Chapter to assist with the duties of the 2021 GCC Host Committee with additional alumni interested in assisting. Approved the appointment of Ginnie Lowers, Akron (OH), as Host Chair.
  • Fraternity Operations